Cholsey and Wallingford Railway

Heritage trains in South Oxfordshire

Thanks to the hard work of a small band of volunteers, trains are still running on a two and a half mile rural branchline first opened in 1866 which connects Cholsey – on the national railway network – with the historic riverside town of Wallingford.

Known locally as "The Bunk", the Cholsey and Wallingford branchline ceased regular passenger services in 1959. In 1981, the line was secured by the Cholsey and Wallingford Railway Preservation Society who restored the track. It now offers train rides on some eighteen selected weekends and bank holidays during the year. Trains are hauled either by one of the railway's own heritage diesel locomotives or by a visiting steam locomotive. From Cholsey, the line runs through farmland to the Society's base station at Wallingford where visitors can enjoy light refreshments, and visit the railway's small museum and station gift shop.

For details of train services and events visit the website or call 01491 835067 for recorded information.

click for larger view of the poster